My thoughts about PotterMore

I must admit that when Pottermore was announced over a week ago, I thought it would be something amazing and that it would change the Harry Potter fandom. Now I am not only disappointed with the final result, but also with the way the fans were treated.

Firstly, we had to wait for an announcement that wasn’t even live, simply a two-minute pre-recorded video in which JK Rowling barely clarifies what this website is about. It’ll be some sort of social network with an online store, with fan fictions and a small encyclopedia, along with never-before-seen games and new magical experiences. Not only did they have all the fans restlessly waiting for what they believed was a launch, but now we have to wait until October. They are playing with the fans’ anxiety, even if Rowling did thank them wholeheartedly in the video.

Moreover, Pottermore is not a great website for fans. It is clearly a publicity stunt (that is way too interactive) in order to introduce the Ebooks into the mass market, something that is completely new to the Harry Potter publishers. If they had been introduced into the market like any other electronic book, the sales wouldn’t have been as expected. But with the printed book sales so low right now and the publishers’ need to continue to make profit out of this worldwide phenomenon, the only solution is to create an exhaustive campaign that will eventually lead the fans to buy the electronic versions. Not to mention the online store, which will include stuff especially designed for the fandom.

In the official press release, it was promised that the game will be faithful the original plotline of Philosopher’s Stone, stating that we would start our first term at Hogwarts in October and that Year 2 would soon follow in 2012. Clearly, like any other publicity stunt, if the sales don’t improve the site will not be updated anymore and will only keep on living due to the fans’ actions and enthusiasm, and even without the promised help that Rowling initially offered.

If not, how could someone explain the thousands of dollars invested in development and promotion for something that, in theory, would only favor the fans? How to explain the hiring of professionals and the years of planning with so much precaution (they registered more than 150 domains in allusion) if they don’t expect to gain anything in retribution? Above all, the iconic Sony logo stands out at the top of the site, so that we don’t forget with whom we’re dealing.

It is a pity that after all those profitable years JK Rowling’s brand will be sold to a company that will generate a campaign that will excite fans (and for that very same reason, disappoint them,) and that, in the end, is only looking for more earnings.

About harrypotterreviews

I am a Harry Potter collector and I love to read about Harry Potter and the Harry Potter phenomenom. I also run @hpotterquotes at Twitter.
This entry was posted in Personalities and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

51 Responses to My thoughts about PotterMore

  1. Anant Khimasia says:

    i must say i agree with you…although lets wait for the site to open to its fans :)

    • I dont agree at all and I dont think that the person who wrote the article participated in the 7 day challenge to gain early access. I did and I have an account and I am just thrilled at what they have done and what they have come up with. I am working my way through each chapter of each book and can tell all those Harry Potter fans, if you are a fan you will apprecite the site as much as I do.

  2. Annie says:

    I think this is quite a cynical approach, and though I too have my reservations, I am much more optimistic that this is more than a mere “publicity stunt”. From what I know and from what I’ve seen of JKR, I do not think she would be willing to put her name and brand to something as unfulfilling for the fans as this. I don’t think Jo has ever let us down, and I don’t think she’s going to start with this.

  3. Birgitta Watts says:

    I 100% agree with you. When I watched that video when I woke up not too long ago, it completely ruined the rest of my day. Here I was, expecting for it to give my day an awesome jumpstart, and yet, I’m left here stalled and disappointed. Thank you for sharing your opinion and letting me know I’m not the only disappointed fan out there. With all love,
    Former RPG player, Riley Noir

  4. Will says:

    I am still reserving my opinions regarding Pottermore. Guess I have to wait until I’m experiencing the site itself. You have some good points, though. Fingers crossed.

  5. Taylor Dugan says:

    You’re forgetting who J.K. Rowling is. She’s a genuine individual who put so much of her heart and soul into this set of astonishing books. She would never do something to exploit them in order to build upon the franchise and please the publishing companies or any other companies she may be working with on this project. I cannot and will not believe that JKR would do something like this if she didn’t truly believe in what she was doing. I think you and everyone else owe it to Rowling to believe in her and her judgement…just as she believes in you and her entire fanbase.

  6. Dani Payne says:

    I went to be early so I wouldn’t be tired when I woke up this morning to watch this YouTube video. I must say that when I saw that it wasn’t coming out until October, I nearly cried and took my anger out on other people. I was so angry to find out that it wasn’t happening today.
    Then, when I went to the site, I thought “Well, at least I can put my e-mail address in…”
    WRONG.
    So, not only am I very disappointed, but I am also angry and sad. I feel like I have been trick and deceived.
    I guess I’ll just have to wait until October. I know I won’t be disappointed.
    Long Live Potter.

  7. Claudia says:

    I think that I’m not thaaaaat excited over having a HP social network, the truth is I’ve always been an anonymous fan, and I haven’t ever joined a HP group or anything except HP latino. However, I’m excited about the possibility of reading extra material of the HP saga, moreover, I’d really like to buy HP books (like limited versions) online, since in the city I live in Chile there’s like one book store u.u. Hope it’s not that bad and there are actually great surprises for us the fans. I agree with the person above, JK Rowling has never let us down and she wouln´t use her name for something which doesn´t meet her standards. Greetings from Chile…Claudia

  8. Megan says:

    I couldn’t agree more. I don’t know what I expected, but it wasn’t this and it wasn’t another four month waiting period. I am just dissapointed and I can’t explain why. It sounds cool, but it was not whta I was expecting from J.K

  9. Kate says:

    I’m glad that I wasn’t the only one to think this way. Although I absolutely love Harry Potter, to me, the series is done. I will always love them, but I feel no need for the series to be dragged on through a site like this. Other amazing series such as Lord of the Rings or Narnia don’t need an interactive website because they stand on their own, and I would like to believe that Harry Potter can do the same. That being said, now that they are doing a site, I’m sure it will be fun to play with. But there is zero need for the hype that they are playing the fans with.

  10. Dani says:

    Although I was a little disappointed by Pottermore because as you pointed out we all thought something was going to be launched today only to find out we have to wait til October. But this is JKR and I can’t see her doing this as a publicity stunt, because she really doesn’t need to. She’s probably still loaded from the book sales. I’m starting to look forward to Pottermore a little now but the launch re-launch aspect was unecessary. I’m still part of RowlingsArmy :’)

  11. Just Me says:

    I don’t agree with your opinion. I think it’s great that there’s going to be more material to read on the HP characters and other stuff to do. I think that it is a great idea and that J.K, like the person above said, would never do such a thing if she didn’t believe in what she did. I love the idea, even if I have to wait till october, we had to wait for every single Potter book and film, so I think it will be just like that.

  12. rosieechan says:

    I agree with the comments from Taylor and Annie.
    This is JK Rowling we’re talking about. It’s something she’s personally putting effort into. Something that will be worthwhile for her and the fans.

    And it’s not just some stunt to drag Harry Potter…it’s actually FUN to discuss Harry Potter, even after it’s over. There are so many things that you can explore into. Harry Potter should never come to an end.

    I can’t judge it fully until it’s actually come out, anyway.

  13. Reseam says:

    I am surprised at your cynicism toward this, we are talking about JK Rowling, someone who has never treated this series be a publicity stunt.

    I am so excited by this and am even more excited that fans will get to be the beta testers on this project (Here’s hoping I’m one in a million.) I love JK Rowlings site, and this is kind of a bigger version of that. I’m even more excited that my kids are going to get to experience this with me. They love the series as well, and cannot wait to explore this new online world.

    As to the publishing of the ebooks, Jo was one smart cookie in holding onto those rights. Now, we’ll be able to get the books for our devices (DRM Free..thank you JKR), but also get to experience the books in a new way, not to mention new content (McGonagall’s back story, wand wood information, etc)

    I guess I was one of the few that didn’t think this was a launch but news about what was to come. This reminds me of the old days when we’d find out about the title of a book, then find out the release date, and then finally get our hands on it after months of counting down. And I for one am ecstatic. I hope we get an owl countdown again!

    Oh and as to the email problem, that is because of the sheer number of fans trying to put in their information. Just shows the power of Potter. Of course it doesn’t help that some sites mistakenly said that you had to be on of the first million to get your email in to beta test. When in reality you have to go online on July 31 to get a chance.

  14. rj says:

    I also don’t agree. Tell me where it says it’s bad to make money. Rowling is giving us a bunch of free stuff and I’ve been hearing a lot of fans basically just spitting in her face, demanding more. Way to go.

    Seriously, name one single company that would develop a huge games and social networking site for “totally free for Potter fans, no advertising or e-commerce shops!” What a load of bull. Of COURSE someone is out to make money. What planet do you live on?

    This is such a standard business model on the internet. “Free stuff here, btw, look at our shops and adverts.” What is so weird about this? It’s all over the place, been done many times, and somehow Rowling should be above all this? Nobody would be, nobody.

    People are just upset about the hype, that’s all. I personally will be checking the site out when it’s on. Hopefully it’s good. I CERTAINLY will be reading all the FREE stories she’s putting up.

  15. Laure says:

    I don’t know why everybody is so disappointed, you can’t expect her to release another book or so! She already said she wouldn’t… So I think this is great, cause it’s a chance to learn more about the Harry Potter world.
    The only sad part is that we have to wait till october but I guess it takes a lot of effort to make this site. I think she probably was to excited herself to wait with letting us know about it :) I don’t believe this is a publicity stunt (ok, she’ll make money out of it, but I don’t think she cares, she has enough anyway :p ). She wouldn’t stand up and make a video about it if she was only interested in the money. She does this for her fans!
    Shame on you for having such a lack of faith in her!

  16. Tom says:

    They NEVER said anything would be launched today. It was publicised as J.K. Rowlings ANNOUNCEMENT. If you’re disappointed because it wasn’t launched today, then that’s no ones fault but your own.

    And don’t forget… 1 million people will get to join Pottermore on July 31st. That’s only just over one month away! 1 million is a huge number, so I’m sure most of us will get in on that date.

    For those disappointed with what Pottermore actually is, what were you expecting? What could they have announced that would have fulfilled your expectations?

  17. Tom says:

    And why not reserve judgement until it’s actually launched?

  18. Marie says:

    I’m just excited for all the back story she didn’t put in the books! She’s been such a tease telling us how much extra info she’s thought up about the characters and not revealing it to us. Can’t wait until the launch! It’ll definitely help ease the post-Potter depression ;)

  19. Hanna says:

    I’m just so so so excited. According to leaky cauldron the site will be:
    Pottermore is an interactive new Web site and reading experience with more than 18,000 new words from J.K. Rowling: Much more to come.
    An online experience to read, interact with and share the Harry Potter stories. Exclusive writing from J.K. Rowling and more.
    Pottermore will feature infromation J.K. Rowling has been “hoarding” for years about Harry Potter.
    JKR said if you’re not sorted into Gryffindor you get even more exclusive content about your house.
    Also shown this morning, there will be info on Minerva McGonagall’s long friendship with Dumbledore
    JKR is excited to include a long backstory on McGonagall – her childhood, ministry career, early heartbreak…
    Also mentioned that Vernon and Petunia met at work, backstory also on Pottermore.

    She will give us all these amazing stories, just now she has written more than 18,000 words! I consider this something at the size of a new book, actually, and if one don’t like some parts of it (the interactive stuff, for example, although I know I will love this: In an announcement which will thrill fans, she described how she has brought to life both the Sorting Hat and Ollivanders experiences from her books for the first time on Pottermore, by revealing the questions asked by the Sorting Hat – which places newcomers into their Hogwarts houses according to their characteristics – and the magic behind the Wand Chooser – which finds the right wand for each user from over 33,000 possible combinations), I think that one definitely will like something.

  20. I read all your comments. I am not saying PotterMore will be a bad thing, I am saying the way it was introduced it wasn’t okey, and why? Because Sony is a partner. Jo Rowling doesn’t need to be partner of nobody, She could have done all this without the help of nobody. Why, then, appears the logo of Sony on the head? Why the press release was for journalist if the final product is for fans? Why, if She doesn’t need the money is doing this? It’s an obvious pressure from the publishing houses (and people who has the Potter Trademark).

    Sorry Jo, I am eternally grateful to you and I think you are a genius, but I believe this time you got it wrong.

    • Taylor Dugan says:

      J.K. Rowling is an author. She works as a visionary to sculpt and create incredible fiction that takes its readers on an imagined journey. That said, Mrs. Rowling is NOT a web page developer, programmer, and has repeatedly said she’s not very technologically savvy (hints the incredibly obvious reason to partner with Sony). Why else partner with Sony? It’s a well established brand that is evolving and constantly incorporating and creating better technologies. Jo’s partnership with Sony is the means towards developing an interesting and interactive website that makes the entire Pottermore experience even better. There is no possible way J.K. could have done that on her own.

      Furthermore, do you not realize that we live in a media run world? Harry Potter didn’t become the huge phenomenon that it is because the stories were good. The stories had to be amazing, but they also needed backing from reviewers who are part of the media. The media had to pick up on the stories and spread the word. So why have a press release for the media? Because they will hear about it, post articles about it on some of the best and most well-known newsworthy sources on the web who will then translate what they have heard to a global audience. I’ve read the entire transcript of the Press Release because ASTONISHINGLY a news source published it for the FANS, and I am certain that the entire video will be available soon (if not already) if you feel so inclined as to watch it.

      As for money…J.K. Rowling is a self-made billionaire. She certainly doesn’t need the money and would not have pushed for this new website for that reason. You’re basically calling her a liar by saying that it’s pressure from the publishing houses leading her to start the whole Pottermore endeavor in the first place. She has already said that she wanted to do something to GIVE BACK to her fans who have given her so much. This is not about corporate greed OR individual greed. It’s about keeping Harry Potter alive and helping it transcend the digital age.

      So, if you excuse me, (I in no way intend for this to come off as rude) but I believe this time you got it wrong.

      • She doesn’t need the partnership with Sony. As you say, She is millonaire, She could have paid for this website and much more, just as did with Lightmaker. Why do you think Sony logo is so big in the website? Why do you think Sony has an important part in the press release.

        I don’t call her a liar. I am saying She is working for his publishing house, Bloomsbury or Christopher Little or whoever it’s behind this.

        The press release, I don’t see why it needs to be done. If the fansites publish it, the fans will getting noticed, just as the announces of the release dates of the books. This is for the fans. Better said, for the teenagers fans (or do you think people from 30 to 50 will play on Pottermore?). Come on, don’t close your eyes just because is J.K. Rowling.

      • Isaiah Caston says:

        Damn right!

  21. Sarah Beans says:

    I agree with you for the most part… I woke up early this morning (as most) and was hit with a range of emotion. I was certain Jo wasn’t going to write another installment of our hero, however, I was extremely hopefully… And as naive (or insane) as it maybe I will remain hopefully that in 10 years time Jo will miss Harry so much she’ll write another… A girl can always hope.

    As for Pottermore, I remain on the fence. I am of course looking forward to the new information and insight Jo has promised. But I can’t help but worry that sponsorships and/or money grabs (not saying she’s out for money!) will hinder the love of Potter I already have. However, it is somewhat of a relief that my grief of the loss of my childhood on the 15th maybe lessened by the development of Pottermore.

  22. Farida Mestek says:

    I really don’t understand the source of your disappointment, bitterness and cynicism. Jo didn’t have to do ANYTHING at all, you know? She has written SEVEN Harry Potter books, TWO textbooks to go with it, a collection of wizarding fairy-tales and supplied us with a great deal of INFORMATION on http://www.jkrowling.com. What other author has done so much for his/her readership? But no – it is not enough, is it? We want MORE. Well, I think that PotterMORE is a brilliant idea and you are being very nasty and unfair to Jo.

    I don’t know who you are and what you’re doing with your life and I don’t want to offend anyone or sound judgemental, but have YOU written a book? Have YOU done half so much? Do you know what it MEANS to WRITE, to CREATE, to GENERATE ideas on so giant a scale? To be under so much pressure? When, even after you have COMPLETED the series, your readers still want MORE and MORE? Well, here it is! Take it! Use it! But hey – patience is a virtue, you know? No one said that it would be MORE than an ANNOUNCEMENT from Jo or a NEW BOOK today. They warned you that it is NOT a new book. Pay attention!

    And boy – you are ungrateful! Jo’s presentation was done beautifully. But do you think she could have done it without the companies she know works with? She has the means to pull off something so wonderful – what is it to you how much money has gone and will go into it? She hasn’t taken it from you, has she?

    And, if it was about the money, I’m sure Jo has already earned her MASSIVE fortune on the Harry Potter books to live in luxury for the rest of her life without publishing another book. And she specifically states on Pottermore site and stated at the press conference that it is a free-to-use website. FREE! As for, digital audiobooks and e-books – of course, you have to BUY them. Do you go to the shop and they give you stuff for free there? Somehow, I don’t think so. Anyway, what did you expect? I’ll quote @HarryPotterish here: J.K. Rowling to announce that Hogwarts is real? Give Pottermore a chance before you decide that you hate it.

  23. Farida Mestek says:

    “…this [Pottermore] is free. You don’t have to buy anything to access what you’ve seen today. You don’t have to pay to get the extra material, you don’t have to buy a single thing to go onto Pottermore and have the whole experience you’ve just seen. That was really important to me. This was about the give-back. The technology now existed to do something outside the books and the films for existing fans.” J.K. Rowling

  24. Grace Clark says:

    hp is amazing and potter more may take longer than we hope but think the new movie is coming out when part 1 was out it said part 2 would come out spring not summer and we are waiting for that and arent raging about that so be happy next month the new movie coming out ! LONG LIVE HP (im going at MIDNIGHT)

  25. As much as I love Harry Potter I have to say this is exactly what I thought when I saw the video. Also, I don’t think that JK has really sold herself to Sony or anything, but it’s more like she feels that HP may be forgotten after the last movie is released, and she wants it to live longer, which isn’t necessary a bad thing as long as it’s done in the correct way. And this, so far, doesn’t look like it.

    They’re just taking advantage of loving fans, and probably, of a loving author too.

  26. Ak says:

    This is a another idea for making money of same which they have sold in many ways….They will not stop here with Stories, games and movies….Selling same thing again and again is a cheap trick

  27. biq - =) says:

    ” I WANTED IT TO BE MORE THAN THAT” JKR
    “I WANTED IT TO BE MORE THAN THAT” JKR
    ” I WANTED IT TO BE MORE THAN THAT” JKR
    “I WANTED IT TO BE MORE THAN THAT” JKR`
    .
    .
    IS SHE A LIAR OR IS SHE UNDER DE IMPERIOUS CURSE or you are too too much angry because you are growing up and loosing your innocence? I think this in not the case you described.
    Even though this is the most interesting site of HP and the best opinion-report that has generated the bests commentaries.
    .
    .
    “Pottermore has been a really great way to give back to the Harry Potter readership, (…) . It’s been an amazing experience for me to be able to be creative in this medium that didn’t exist back in 1990 when I had the idea for the books. And it will be a wonderful way to introduce the digital generation to the books. “

    “… We knew there was a big demand for the eBooks but I wanted – if it was going to be done I WANTED IT TO BE MORE THAN THAT. Obviously we’d had a lot of REQUESTS FOR ALL SORTS OF GAMES AND ONLINE INTERACTIVE GAMES and so forth. I WANTED TO PULL IT BACK TO READING. I wanted to pull it back TO THE LITERARY EXPERIENCE, the story experience, and this is what emerged from those discussions. …”
    “…You have to read it all, but it’s such A RICH EXPERIENCE TO DO IT THIS WAY.

    The other thing is, this is free. You don’t have to buy anything to access what you’ve seen today. YOU DON’T HAVE TO PAY TO GET THE EXTRA MATERIAL, YOU DON’T HAVE TO BUY A SINGLE THING TO GO ONTO POTTERMORE AND HAVE THE WHOLE EXPERIENCE you’ve just seen. That was really important to me. This was about the give-back. The technology now existed to do something outside the books and the films for existing fans.”

  28. Essa says:

    Okay, I have read all the comments on here and I realize that nothing can make anyone change their opinions.

    That being said: Harry Potter saved my life. I honestly think it is one of the three things that kept me from committing sucide.

    I am not a gamer, I don’t do RP’s. But this is not just a regular game, it has tons of new information, information that makes it all worth while. I am not disappointed, and I understand why they are waiting until October – the last film is coming out in less than two weeks!

    I was to the point of breaking down because the end was here, but it’s not! New information and new products are on the way! Yes, there is a money component. But there is EVERYWHERE in the world. Frankly, this is probably the least money type thing in the world! Even Disney Channel or fanfiction.net have ads on them. It’s a part of life.

    I can’t wait for the new information, and I KNOW I will just gobble it all up. Personally, I quite like Sony. They have the BEST headphones! Anyway, J.K. Rowling has a good head on her shoulders, she’s not going to get the whool pulled over her eyes. She genuinely cares about us, her fans.

    Of course, this is just my opinion, and I completely understand that everyone’s opinion is different. No effence was meant!

  29. Braulio says:

    I don’t think it’s a shame. However, as a reader, I don’t feel the need for background information. If it wasn’t included in the series than what’s the use for it? I like certain things left to the imagination.

    I was also hoping that JK Rowling (great writer) would work on something else. I’m excited to see what she can come up with other than HP. However, she never seems to let it go.

  30. Katie says:

    I agree with most of this, and I’ve decided I don’t like the idea of Harry Potter joining the digital world…I think it’s fine how it is, and if you’re that big of a fan, you can read the already existing material over and over without getting bored. Also, there has been word of a possibility of an eighth book in the far future. Why give out all the secrets when they can make connections in a future book?

  31. Eric says:

    I don’t know, this may be somewhat of a publicity stunt on the part of JK’s agents to build up fan excitement around the e-book launch, but on the other hand Pottermore could end up being really fun experience? Personally I don’t mind all of the anxiety and waiting… it reminds me of waiting for the next book, which is something we haven’t been able to do since 2007! Honestly I was hoping for an eighth book announcement, but Pottermore could be a good start :)

  32. Cara says:

    I completely disagree with you. By your philosophy, she should have given away all seven books for free on June 30, 1997. That way no one would have to wait and there would be no money involved whatsoever. What planet do you live on? Jo isn’t a computer programmer or a web designer or anything but an amazing author. What’s wrong with partnering with Sony? They know their way around technology, and I personally think she made a great choice; they’ll be able to come up with a fantastic website that the fans will enjoy. Yes, we’ll have to wait for it. You had to wait for EVERY SINGLE ONE OF THE BOOKS and EVERY SINGLE ONE OF THE MOVIES. And guess what? You’re still alive. So get off your high horse, accept that money is going to be involved in just about everything on earth, and don’t judge Pottermore before you can access it and see what it’s like. Jo wouldn’t disappoint us just so she can make a little pocket change (because, at her billionaire status, anything she makes off of this site will be little more than that).

    • You misunderstood “my philosophy”, naturally.

      • Cara says:

        Then I suppose you should have been a bit more clear about what you were so upset about. Because it seems to me like you’re whining because you have to wait to get into the site (just like you had to wait for all the books), and that money is slightly involved (just like it is with just about everything on the planet, and NONE OF IT is coming from you). I don’t feel mistreated at all. I’m grateful for the continuance of the Harry Potter world, because I love it, and so does Jo.

      • I was upset because this is clearly a stunt for the ebooks and a new way to sell the books. There is no need to involve the fans in this. No need to promise new things. No need to promote an announce which was not live, just to get the attention from the media.
        When Jo did this? There is some pressure from some people. After releasing Pottermore, Jo go away from Christopher Little Literary Agency and went with Neil Blair, who is, oh coincidence!, the mind behind Pottermore.
        Pottermore has a CEO, as you may know if you download the PDFs in the website. As far as I know, companies have CEO.
        I am not saying Pottermore is not great, I am saying the ways are not correct.
        I’d pay for a book with all the Pottermore content. I’d pay for a website with the Pottermore content. I’d use a website with the Pottermore content for free (and I will), but I don’t like Pottermore is just a way to promote audiobooks and ebooks. If they want to do, if they want to sell, do it, but not using your fans.

  33. Wassermann says:

    I agree i logged on it was the last day of the entering competitin it was 8 oclock in the morning and potter more said you cant enter any more the day had barely started!

  34. Pingback: My new thoughts about PotterMore | Harry Potter Reviews

  35. Ana says:

    Your logic makes no sense. Who else but the fans to buy the ebooks? And this type of website, at least for the die hard fans who got to compete for an early spot, already have the literal books, why even show interest in Pottermore if you haven’t read Harry Potter? Jo is just trying to give the fans the more on the magical world, I’ve already been on the website and it’s great! I finished the first year already, and guess what, I have NOT been asked to buy the ebooks, nor is there any place on the site to buy them (yet). Secondly there is no merchandise to buy either, you get sorted, duel people in opposing houses and earn house points. You go through the story and find objects that reveal info. There’s definitions for characters and complete background information for some as well. You get to brew potions and get a summarized version of the Harry Potter books in beautifully illustrative scenes.

    Of course she’s going to make money off of it, that’s what happens in life dear.

    Also the way Pottermore was revealed was hardly a shock. It’s Harry Potter, and it was revealed in the true style of the books, with a bit of mystery.

  36. Joe says:

    Finished the first book in about two hours, brewed a few potions, then found out that CoS won’t be out until next year. I’m pissed. Granted, I wouldn’t expect them to release too much to the beta testers, but putting months in between the release of each book is ridiculous. It’s an obvious ploy to stretch out the hype as much as possible. But it’s going to fall flat, because there’s only enough content to keep you busy for a day or two, a week at most. And the main draw for me was the addition of new content from JKR, (which was amazing) but you have to slog though some mildly entertaining “memorable scenes” in order to find a few paragraphs of backstory. I’ll stick around for the content, but it’s going to be tedious if we have to wait months for a few hours of entertainment.

  37. Cathy says:

    I am one of the few lucky people to get in early (although I haven’t gotten my welcome email yet, so I can’t officially get in). To tell you the truth, I am very excited. Rowling hasn’t let me down yet and I don’t think she ever will. Rowling is not one to set up a “puplicity stunt” for her fans. HP fans have always dreamed of being able to go to Hogwarts and experience the magic ourselves. This is what she is providing us with and I feel very grateful. Of course, I am a little frustrated I can’t actually get in yet, but I can’t wait to be sorted and get my wand. We also have to keep this in mind; Rowling may have came up with this idea and chosen when it came out (or maybe she didn’t), but she cannot choose how long the site will take to finish. If Jo says this will be a brilliant experience, then it will be.

  38. Jennie says:

    I must say that I disagree with your opinion. Having been on Pottermore for a couple of days now, I can assure you that this is NOT A PUBLICITY STUNT or a site for the promotion of e-books and audio books. Pottermore has been created for the fans to extend the magical world of Harry Potter beyond the books. It is in depth and beautifully designed, the exclusive content from JK Rowling is excellent and although it is easy to finish in a few hours, it is definately something I will go back to again and again, and the extra activities such as Potion making and dueling will be great. There are still things to improve on, but that is why it is called a beta period, and I’m sure it will be perfect by release in October.

    When I initially heard about Pottermore, I was excited as it was something new to carry on the fandom after the books and films. I know that JK Rowling will not abandon a project like this, it is not her nature and seeing as the site isn’t based around sales, not selling enough e-books will certainly not mean that the site will be abandoned.

  39. Eric says:

    Wow, a website of the whole Harry Potter book is going to be on? I admit I never really read a Harry Potter book but I like the special effects at the big screen. The Online world is being touched on by a lot of people and even kids. It’s a very good place to tap on the market of the Harry Potter fans and potential fans.
    I’d wait for this website to go up due to curiosity :)

  40. Hallowcat173 on pottermore says:

    some people are so stupid. JKR doesn’t care about the money she has already said that if she’s ever going to write a new book se going to give all moiney it makes to charity. She had already promised an encyclopedia and she choose to do it this way. This way we’ll get our new info that wan’t in the books, see how she had it all in her head, and get to know in which house you really belong because this test was made by Jo herself and she also sorted all characters in the book this way. She’s just a lovely person who cares about her fans.

  41. Raven Claw says:

    As a fan I am disappointed with this site. I have my log in code etc and evrythings has gone 2 plan (i signed up and got my limited log in code before oct) regarding signing up. But now I can’t get into Pottermore – which is annoying as hell because I want to see what this is about! JK was SO vageu about what the site was – i thought we amateur writers would be able 2 write our own stories and have them sent off and published! I didnt think advertising was good at all. And now I cant access anything because the site is in high demand, making its unaccessible. All my friends play it so I get rather annoyed that I cant! Im really unimpressed so far – JK has not done herself any favours with me!

  42. So says:

    This article re-read again over a year later seems to be fitting. The website is a complete disappointment. It’s a year later and they have only released the first few chapters of the second book. What a joke! It’s also very frustrating as I’m sure many fans will agree they were expecting much more at this point.

Leave a Reply

