Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2 – The Movie

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2 – The Movie
David Yates, Steve Kloves, J.K. Rowling, Daniel Radcliffe, Rupert Grint, Emma Watson, Ralph Fiennes
Warner Brothers, 2011

I love the movie. You must love it. Not for how i is, but for what it means. It’s the final event of a generation, it’s the final event of the PotterMania. You can’t deny it. I’m sorry for being rude, but that is the truth. Harry Potter won’t be the same anymore.

I love the movie. I did, at least until the scene where Neville talks to Voldemort. From that part on, everything changed. It isn’t the movie about the book anymore. The end is totally changed. It’s a shame the fight between Harry and Voldemort throughΒ Hogwarts. I didn’t like neither the missing talk between them at the end (it’s so strong in the book)… nor Voldemort’s corpse! Come on, Yates, why did he disintegrate?

But the epilogue is great, the relationship between Ron and Hermione… and Snape’s story. Brilliant. I must admit Maggie Smith surprised me. And I’m glad Alan Rickman finally could put all his talent and effort to show a magnificent Snape. But nobody has talked about her… Helena Bonham Carter. She did an incredible job when she was Hermione Granger. It’s really hard to impersonate another character, but she did it so well…

Harry Potter came to its end. Thank you Warner Brothers for everything. I can’t be very objective with my review, and altough I know it’s not perfect, I can’t deny I loved it. Thank you.

And thank you Harry Potter. You changed my life. So long, my friend.

About harrypotterreviews

I am a Harry Potter collector and I love to read about Harry Potter and the Harry Potter phenomenom. I also run @hpotterquotes at Twitter.
This entry was posted in Movie Review and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2 – The Movie

  1. Bahaa Saber says:

    awesome πŸ™‚

  2. Marta says:

    You just said what I have in my mind… I forgive lots of details from the movie… But the end… THE TALK for God sake!

  3. Aurora says:

    I agree with EVERYTHING you’ve said. Amazing, I would have written the same thing! LOLz

    Harry Potter forever!

  4. patty k says:

    And why didn’t he use the elder wand to reparo his wand?

  5. Helena Bonham Carter as Hermione as Bellatrix was probably one of the best parts of the movie for me. She was terrific!

  6. There are two things that, as a moviegoer, make no logical sense: Voldy curses Harry with a death curse that kills only the hoarcrux inside him, but not Harry himself. Maybe that’s because the wand can’t kill it’s master? Not sure. And then after Nagani is killed, Harry disarms Voldy and poor old Hissy Face dies. So I am not sure why Voldy dies. Maybe it is because a) he lost his last hoarcrux and is weak combined with b) Somehow being disarmed kills him. b) doesn’t make any sense. I’ve heard some people say that Voldemort dies after being disarmed because somehow the elder wand continues to attack him after getting into Harry’s possession. I didn’t see that. What I saw was Voldemort suddenly disintegrating for no apparent reason whatsoever. Hated that.

  7. Mary Ellen says:

    I agree with you on the final battle scene between Harry and Voldemort. What a disappointment. One of the major psychological differences between Harry and Tom Riddle was that Harry did NOT act alone, while Voldemort was a loner and never shared his secrets with anyone. In the book Harry, very appropriately, shared his final battle and triumphant victory over evil with the friends, adopted family and teachers who had helped make Hogwarts his true home. The movie suffers without this climactic group moment and without Harry’s powerful taunt: β€˜Don’t you get it? I was ready to die to stop you from hurting these people…I’ve done what my mother did. They’re protected from you. Haven’t you noticed none of your curses are binding? You can’t torture them. You can’t touch them.’

    Without the transcendent moment of shared joy, the movie’s end felt flat for me, almost obscuring so much that was so very right (especially the deeply moving, redemptive moments of Snape’s death and shared memories). I loved the dragon, too; pausing on the broken cupola above Gringotts and London for it’s first breath of fresh air in who knows how long — and then tentatively stretching its torn wings to lift off into freedom.

    All the ‘grown-up’ actors were wonderful. Rickman’s Snape moved me to tears, especially the scene (a GOOD addition!) where he weeps desperately while holding Lily’s body. At the other end of the emotional spectrum, Bonner-Carter was so funny as Hermione-Bellatrix, especially that Gringott moment when she asks to enter her vault, getting the Bellatrix sideways head movement and lifted chin ‘almost right’, but totally ‘missing’ the carelessly arrogant tone of voice, not to mention the mastery of high heels.

    I think I’ll see it again, but I’ll leave before the last battle and go read the book to picture a more fitting end to an otherwise wonderful film.

  8. trotamun2 says:

    I do not like the movie. I’m sorry, but I don’t and I don’t care if I “must” love it, wich I think I don’t.
    I don’t like all those made up parts. I can’t help it.

  9. Pingback: Deathly Hallows Part 2 received an Award at the American Art Directors Guild | Harry Potter Reviews

Leave a comment