Harry Potter Film Wizardry – Brian Sibley, Miraphora Mina, Eduardo Lima

Harry Potter Film Wizardry

Harry Potter Film Wizardry
Brian Sibley, Miraphora Mina, Eduardo Lima
Collins Design, 2010
Buy on Amazon

Harry Potter Film Wizardry invites you, according to the book’s description in Amazon, to dive in the magical world of Harry Potter. A perfect way to explain this book with words, to describe the experience you get flipping its pages, feeling that you actually are near the Harry Potter world.

The book brings a lot of material inbetween its pages. From the sets’ pictures, words of the actors about their experience in all these years with Harry Potter, to explanations of producers, designers and costume makers of the reason of many things in the movies. Confessions by Daniel Radcliffe, Emma Watson, anecdotes of the Phelps twins, and more. For example, that one time that Helena Bonham Carter (Bellatrix Lestrange) hurt Matthew Lewis’ ear with a wand!

This copy is illustrated by Eduardo Lima and Miraphora Mina, the people responsible for designing the movies. If you were wondering who designed the Marauder’s Map, The Daily Prophet or the Educational Decrees, they are the answer. So Harry Potter Film Wizardry is notable for carrying its designs as a flag, which doesn’t go unnoticed while you read it, as you feel that you are inside the movies, having a book designed by them.

Because of their part in this work (or maybe not), we can se exclusive designs of the movies that dont hit the screen, like the wedding invitation of Fleur Delacour and Bill Weasley, or the Ministry of Magic ID’s.

But the thing that deserves a separate paragraph is the inclusion of props. Having a book with envelopes in which you find elements designed for the films as is they were the same used in them is something hard to explain with words. Having the Marauder’s Map in your hands, Umbridge’s Decree, the Quidditch Cup’s final’s schedule, the invitation to the Yule Ball, the catalog for Borgin and Burkes and Weasley’s Wizard Wheezes, and many more! It’s really a fantastic thing to lay hands on these unique objects from the wizarding world.

Really, without making a big fuzz out of it, Harry Potter Film Wizardry is a must-have book, without any doubt. None of the fans that purchases the book will regret. He will look into the details and dive into, as Amazon says, in the fascinating world of the Harry Potter movies. Because if there’s a book that can do that, this is it.

10/10

What do you think? Have you seen it? Would you get it? Leave your comments!

About harrypotterreviews

I am a Harry Potter collector and I love to read about Harry Potter and the Harry Potter phenomenom. I also run @hpotterquotes at Twitter.
This entry was posted in Related Book Review and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Harry Potter Film Wizardry – Brian Sibley, Miraphora Mina, Eduardo Lima

  1. Bruno Augusto says:

    I can’t wait for get one! o.O

  2. Cara says:

    Got it for Christmas πŸ™‚ most brilliantest book ever I love it definately 10/10

  3. Elizabeth says:

    I got this book for Christmas, and I haven’t been able to put it down. Adult fans will love it too (I’m 24). My only complaint is that Gilderoy Lockhart gets two pages, but Sirius only gets one. What’s with that?

    • Adriana Gonzalez says:

      I know right? I was all like Seriously?!?! I got mine in November, I won it on a website an it was the best early birthday gift ever!!

  4. Adriana Gonzalez says:

    I have this book and it is beautiful. I especially love the inserts it has.

  5. Lea says:

    I got one for Christmas and completely love it.
    I love all those little gimmicks that come with it and the design is wonderful (not so half-heartly made like other books)

    You can practically feel the love the movies were made with.

    It’s espcially cool, because it not just designed for kids

  6. Imogen says:

    I’ve seen it and it looked wonderful but it’s really expensive.
    Don’t think I’ll be paying that much for it.

  7. Annabelle says:

    I bought this with my christmas money the other day and I literally can’t stop looking at it. It’s an amazing book, it really has everything! I got ridiculously excited when I saw the actual letter from Hogwarts =’] It’s brilliant, I strongly strongly strongly recommend it πŸ™‚ 10/10 !

  8. Annabelle says:

    oh also, might be expensive but in my eyes, totally worth the money πŸ˜›

  9. Phoebe says:

    I bought one before Christmas because I couldn’t even wait to get it! I love it so much, especially the props. I’m a twenty year old college student and I was beyond excited to finally receive a Hogwarts letter! I really appreciate how much detail they went into in creating the book, as well as the fact that a lot of the stuff I hadn’t actually read before. A lot of times as a fan interviews and articles contain the same information and become repetitive and boring, but this book goes the extra mile to be different. πŸ™‚

  10. janflora says:

    I opened my copy on Christmas and I love it! Yes, i ordered it myself and waited an agonizing month to open it as a gift. So worth it. It’s lovely. I love seeing all of teh detailed props and planning taht went into the films, plus the insights from cast and crew. It’s truly one of the books I will treasure in my large library πŸ™‚

  11. chocolatedoodles says:

    Loved the book! But never opened the envelopes; was scared that I might damage or lose them and the envelopes might fall away. Does that happen? Otherwise, I loved the anecdotes! I hope there was more of them, and some more in-depth details of set design. I was left wanting for more!

    • ATM says:

      Well…
      there is the little pocket for it so- like ur parents always tell u- always put ur toy back.
      But EVERYTHING is amazing!!!

  12. Myx says:

    I got this book as a Christmas present and I totally love it! And like with all the rest of the harry potter books, I couldn’t put it down! I finished it within two days coz I was really careful with the inserts and random props in the book. πŸ™‚ Every page is so interesting to read. Sadly they published this before DH2 came out so there was only a sneak peek instead of a full detailed page like with all the other previous movies.

  13. ATM says:

    Can’t wait to get it!!!
    But, what kind of props are there. i know there is the Hogwarts letter and the maraureders map (i hope i spelled that right) but what r the other ones?

  14. Gail says:

    This is a great book! Couldn’t put it down

Leave a comment